Goshen recognized for outstanding environmental planning

The Indiana Association of Floodplain and Stormwater Managers (INAFSM) awarded the City of Goshen the Outstanding Floodplain Project Award for creating and implementing the Goshen Flood Resilience Plan during its annual conference last week.  

The annual statewide award recognizes an outstanding municipality or manager who has instituted a proactive approach to water resource management in Indiana. 

“Environmental preparedness is vital for the well-being of our community,” said Mayor Gina Leichty, “Successful implementation requires the help of a whole team. Fortunately, Goshen’s talented leaders are guiding Goshen towards a more sustainable future.” 

“It is an honor for us to be recognized by the Indiana Association of Floodplain and Stormwater Managers as the 2023 recipient of the Outstanding Floodplain Project award winner for the City’s work to help our community be more flood resilient,” said Jason Kauffman, Stormwater Coordinator.

The Flood Resilience Plan was developed after the City experienced its most significant flood event in recorded history in 2018. The City partnered with Christopher B Burke Engineering, LLC to create a study that identified at-risk areas and outlined practical ways of addressing the problem. The plan was passed unanimously by the Goshen City Council in July 2022.  

Recommendations within the plan ranged from specific actions undertaken by various city departments to ordinance updates that limit high-risk development and incentivize future growth outside flood hazard areas. 

More info about the City’s plans to address flooding and additional resources can be found here

City employees and elected officials integral to the creation and implementation of the Goshen Flood Resilience Plan with Mayor Leichty.  (Front L to R: Jason Kauffman, Stormwater Coordinator; Mayor Gina Leichty; City Councilor Julia King; Mattie Lehman, GIS Coordinator. Back L to R: Deputy Mayor Mark Brinson; Aaron Sawatsky-Kingsley, Environmental Resilience Director; Dustin Sailor, Public Works Director; City Councilor Matt Schrock; Tanya Heyde, Parks and Recreation Director; Ryan Miller, Stormwater Specialist)